Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Twenty-sixth Entry. Fat chance
02-27-2003 | 1:16 a.m.

Thank you. After reading the latest entry in your diary I have found new motivation.

I have evaded my first block for two days so that I wouldn't lose 100 points that I desperately need-the homework is STILL nowhere near completion. You, however, went to the reception held for the honor roll students.

I have been jobless for about two months now and have managed to make $30 last that long. That's including my gas, some food, one moment of indulgence, and a short list of groceries for the house. Well, I still happen to have $5 that I'll probably spend on more gas-our house is now only 2 weeks away from foreclosure. You got a job today that will last as long as you will it, I'm sure. Though, your family isn't as broke as you are.

I have been wondering what in the hell I'm going to do about prom. I didn't go my Junior year, feeling that it was a Senior year event. Now, with the epitome of high school memories looming closer every day, I don't have a chance at finding a sane date, or even the opportunity to afford such an "extravagant" event. I honestly don't care, but later on I'll think that it was only appropriate for me to go and that it's wrong that I didn't go... You, on the other hand, are speaking of buying your prom dress, meaning you probably have a date and all the fixings.

There are a number of reasons why this makes me happy and motivated. Tomorrow I'm going to look for a job, pumping the rest of my life savings into my gas tank-21 miles to the gallon on a good day. Then I might have enough money for prom and I'll end up going alone, which is fine because I'm not really in the mood to ask anyone to anything. Hopefully I'll pass my midterm on Friday, too. And hopefully I'll end up not just being motivated...but actually caring as well. Fat chance!

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.