Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Jack
22 May 2009 | 01:45

I've finally gotten around to reading a book I've known about for years. I've wanted to read it ever since I saw the cover. Those words etched so innocently across the front, "On The Road." It's a book most people read in their teens when they want to feel all pretentious and wild all together, I guess. Me, I knew that if I read it then..it would change my life and I wasn't ready to switch directions. When I heard about it, I was having dreams all my own about riding rail cars in the night with cold-winds and madman dreams my only company as I trekked wildly across the States. Free-wheeling madness. Getting lost in hobo alleys and deserted streets. Had I read the book then..I never would have finished it. I would have taken that plunge and left it all behind and been like Big Slim Montana-the willing hobo.

I have quite some ways to go with the book, but it's quite the read. To me, most books are about the main issue with filler scenarios to give interest to the length. These novels are about the problem and little else. To me, so far, On The Road is about a lifestyle. Something whole and complete that illuminates the emptiness of today..and ruminates on a solid history of when we actually thought it was "OKAY" to be happy. The temerity!!! I feel so much of these words as opposed to reading them. I guess that's why the book is so fiercely hailed...

While I enjoy the life I have now, one can't help but wonder what could have been... And for a man who doesn't mind a little suffering, cold nights starring at the moon in tattered clothes with an empty belly almost sounds fulfilling enough...

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.