Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Sixth entry. "Julie And Me" continues..Page two.
07-10-01 | 8:47 A.M. Central

Well, the previous post was ended too quickly.. so I shall quote and continue with "Julie and Me".

Where we last left off: "She fell asleep leaning against me and I too, was soon asleep. I woke up around 1:00 A.M. or so, though, and was swift to wake her up. She wasn't allowed out that late at night, and so I was quick to rush her home. I didn't want her in trouble on account for my irresponsibility, and I guess I was trying to make up for it by speeding.

She lived with her dad and her younger sister, Victoria. Victoria was twelve and kind of fun to be around. She adored me as the brother she never had. I'd never met her dad, though. She didn't really talk about him either, so I wasn't really too eager to meet him anyway. She spoke of her mother rarely too. She had died when Julie and Victoria were really young. Simply, one morning her mom didn't quite wake up.

She never really spoke much at all of her home, and I had only been there to pick her up and drop her off. She let me go to the front door once. It seemed there was something going on that I was not let into, but I didn't ask questions. Julie seemed depressed when I did ask, so I stopped. "

Continued:

We got to her house swiftly and she sneaked in through her living room window while I quietly left and went back home. The entire drive back I was worried, but she apparently was without a welcome party. I also thought, as I finally crawled into my bed, that I would never trade that day for anything...nor would I even trade the shortest second with her for anything else. It was all just too perfect it seemed, but I loved it. And I loved her.

Maria, my best friend, called me around noon the next day, waking me up. She wanted to go do something, and we decided we would. I would've invited Julie or at least called, but I had been advised to not call before 4 o'clock in the afternoon. Julie wanted to sleep late, really late, and get some "beauty sleep" that I always told her she didn't need. She didn't need it, though; it was useless. She couldn't be more beautiful than she already was. No one could.

So, Maria and I went swimming at her house, later left for Mexican food-Which I loved almost as much as Julie! The taste! The smell!-and we finally made it back to my house where the two of us talked amidst me holding my position as her personal punching bag. She left a little while after pounding me one last time.

Around 6 o'clock I thought it would be safe to call Julie. There was no answer. She was most likely off with some friends or something. I encouraged her to keep close with her friends and go off often. I didn't want to be a crutch-like tyrant in her life who demanded all of her time. Besides, I trusted her. That was apart of our love, our absolute trust. I called a little later and Victoria answered the phone-something their father never did because of debtors or some other people he wished to avoid-and told me Julie was off with Rick, a really great guy.

I was fond of Rick. He really was a great guy. He was the guy who girls say don't exist. He always made sure nothing even remotely unpleasant happened to Julie. It was like he was her big brother..protective and loving. Yeah, they practically were brother and sister, but without all the foolish fights and sibling rivalry.

The rest of the week, Julie and me spent the week spontaneously with various other friends and only got to meet up for brief moments that lingered in our minds the whole week through. Friday, though, we spent the day together. We went up to the mall where I bought her this skirt that looked too good on her to not have bought, and some shoes she'd been lusting after for awhile. When I paid for it all, an unplanned gesture, Julie gave me one of those "You're-so-great" hugs and a kiss on the cheek, telling me how much she really did love me and how she appreciates everything I do.

She started laughing just as we left that particular store and headed back into the mall area. I was oblivious and it want until we got into one of those picture booths that I saw what she was laughing at. Her lipstick left the imprints of her lips on my cheek. She demanded that I keep it for the pictures, so I did. But after that, she cleaned it off for me. It was adorable, and so were the photos..especially with her in them.

Summer was nearly halfway through, and it was proving to be the best summer of our lives. Through a special program we were smart enough to enter, we had already applied for college and we both got accepted to our first choice. N.Y.U. If our grades held up, Julie would be given a full scholarship. She was just so smart.. positively brilliant. I would receive a partial scholarship for two years that might be lengthened depending on the grades I made once already there. We were so happy for each other, for ourselves, and for "us." We truly were going to make it. Everything was going to be perfect.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.