Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Seventh entry. Page three of "Julie And Me."
07-12-01 | 12:24 A.M. Central

Well, as the "short description" states, we will continue on with our story of "Julie And Me."
Continued:

That Monday, I picked up Julie at a rather early hour in the yet to dawn morning. I had already had plenty of sleep to be awake at the ungodly hour, and so I wasn't too tired. Julie, though, had gone to bed late the previous night and after giving my cheek a kiss and my ear a whisper of, "Good morning sweetie," she fell asleep sprawled out over the seats in the back. My heart was warm and my skin tingled. Love truly is some kind of amazing.

I hadn't told her where we were going or why I had to pick her up so early to get there. She enjoyed a surprise. She slept the whole ride there, too. It was about and hour and a half from where we lived. The beach.

I parked in one of the empty public parking lots that would soon be filled, but not for a few hours. I scooped her up into my arms and with her blanket still wrapped tightly around her, I carried her sleeping form over the sand to few short yards from where the surf washed over that flat, solid, wet sand. As planned, the sun had yet to rise.

It was the gentle crash of waves and the thick scent of the refreshing Gulf of Mexico that stirred her awake. She had a passion for the sea paralleled by no other, and as she lay with her back against my upright torso between my legs... I didn't have to see it. I knew she was smiling. Smiling so wide that her lips might tear.

The sun was soon emerging out of the watery horizon with us so close on the shore. Brilliant array of beaming light in the most beautiful hues painted the sky with breathtaking amazement. Pastel colored clouds of the heftiest fluff and the still crashing waves so very close; we stayed for an hour or more.

We spent the day entire day at the beach. Getting lots of strange looks be the fellow people gathered there as we went about our business. We weren't exactly dressed for the occasion. What, with me in some jeans and holding a balled up shirt in one hand with socks and shoes in the other, and Julie wearing her favorite flannel pajama pants and a light blue halter top. Even despite our attire, we often dove head fist into that cool, clear water. We were like that, though. So in love that nothing but the other's joy mattered to us. So we were wild in order for the other to be as wild as they wanted.

Lunch wasn't much. A microwavable burrito from a local gas station for the each of us. We'd spent a lot of money already on cokes and the like. Though, dinner was just too perfect.

The crowds had dispersed and the beach was empty. It really was just Julie and me. The sun was setting into the watery depths that marked its nightly grave. We had bought some French bread and a bottle of non-alchoholic wine with the spare change we had left, and as the sun sank into glittering water... we toasted to each other of an undying love for each other that nothing would ever separate. That was the greatest day of our lives.

Julie slept the entire ride back, again in the back seat, clinging tightly to my crumpled shirt. She held it near her nose..so, as she had claimed, she could, "breathe in my scent with the hopes of having me grace her dreams."

That wasn't odd, though. She explained it to me already. She had a pair of my pajama pants and a shirt of mine that she would on occasion wear to bed as her "nighttime outfit." Not too often at all, though. She said that she didn't want to stink it up with her scent. And, well, she wouldn't wash it clean. Clean of my scent. Of my presence. It was as if she had some fetish for me, but she loved me. And I loved her.

We got back late. Sometime near 3 in the morning. It was just that time had flown by at the beach and that midnight stroll in a moonlit beach was a little long. Even still, it was such a long drive back.

With the hour so late, we both decided it best that she crashed at my house for the night. It was something we hadn't done before, but we figured it would be fine. So, as soon as we got home, we crawled into my bed with clothes still damp. Lights off and cuddling close, we kissed each other goodnight. After a heartfelt "I love you so much," we went to sleep to surely have the sweetest dreams. It was all like a dream, though. Life was so sweet.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.