Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Nineteenth Entry. A phone call
02-19-2003 | 10:52 p.m.

She called.

I'm not too sure how she exactly managed it. I didn't give her my phone number. I'm positive that she doesn't know anyone who does know my phone number. I'm absolutely certain that she didn't hack her way through system files to get to personal information-it's not her style, least, not from everything I feel that I know about her. I'm sure that she wouldn't have anyone else hack to get it, either.

I, as stated at the end of the previous entry, knew that we would come across each other again. I had no clue, though, that it would be forced by her. Some might say that forcing an encounter is messing with fate... that it usurps the whole idea of destiny.

I am not one of those people. I believe in fate and all that jargon, but I also feel that you have a lot of input in what your fate will be in the end. I like that she showed enough initiative to hunt me down and get my phone number. I enjoy the fact that she didn't care if I wanted her to call or not. I relish the fact that her fate... will be on her terms, unlike all these people who wait all their lives for destiny to happen to them.

Despite the fact that I did not know how she got my number, I knew the moment that phone rang that it was her. It could have been the Navy again.. It could have been a friend.. my mom.. or someone not even calling for me entirely. It wasn't, though. It was her.

It was just something about the way the phone rang. Something in my gut told me exactly who was calling.. and that they had gone through at least some effort to get my number. It was a nice feeling.

"How did you get my number?" I spoke completely confident in my deduction.

She gasped on the other end of the line. It was silent, but I could hear it. She was afraid that I was displeased or something, but my tone was calm and smooth. There was not a hint of angst anywhere to be found in my voice in that single question.

"What? Not even a hello?" Her voice came, now confident. It took her a moment, but she realized I was pleased, if anything. I could feel her smiling.

"Not when one isn't necessary."

"How did you know that it was me? Your phone rings a lot..it could have been someone different. It was practically ringing off the hook when I was over there." She wasn't afraid to admit that she was curious.

"I just knew. And no, it couldn't have been someone different. I answered your question, now please answer mine." I was as curious as a kitten about that solitary fact.

"So you don't know everything. That's a little relieving, actually. It's quite simple." She began her story and my smile was growing. I had to know what path she chose, it would relate a lot about the kind of person she was.

She continued, "You gave me your name. I thank you for doing me that favor. It was all I needed, really. So I went to the phone book and looked up your last name..and there it was. In abundance. Half a damn page."

I chuckled lightly. "Yes, my family are not the only ones. None of us are related, least, I don't believe so..but we are plenty." I silenced myself to let her continue, I know she didn't call each number till she wound up with me. She wouldn't waste her time in that manner.

"Well, either way, I wasn't about to waste my time calling each and every person with your last name. Then I caught a glimpse of the addresses that accompanied each number. I went to that sheet of paper you gave me with the directions to your house..and noticed that you didn't give me any street names. Not even one. You didn't give your address, not even the number of your house. It took me a minute, but I realized you did that on purpose, otherwise you would have added at least one street somewhere... Right?" That last word was not an inquiry. She knew she was right, she just wanted to make it obvious that it didn't slip past her.

I let my silence signal to her that she was right, even though she already knew it. She impressed me, my smile was content with that. She was a quick learner, very observant.

"I didn't want to, but I had to call you..."

Just at that moment everything fell into place and I knew the rest of the story. She didn't have to go on any further, but I just wanted to hear it. I wanted her to admit it. My ears perked anxiously.

"I went to your house. I thought for a minute that you might be there, but you weren't. Your car was there, and I didn't go inside or bother to knock. Just sitting out there by your mailbox I knew that you weren't home..."

She impressed me yet again. People these days ignore all their instincts. Most of those that actually hear their instincts out, though, will still question them. They feel that it is impossible to just know anything. Train your instincts properly and you'll just know a whole lot more.. and if you can tell the difference between intuition and your sense of irony, you'll almost always be correct.

She was right, however.. I had gone out for a run. I wasn't gone long, but long enough to miss her.

"Well, on my excursion, I retrieved your address. Street name, house number.. all I needed. I got back to my house, returned to the phone book, and was quite pleased to end my search for your phone number. Is your question answered?"

"Entirely. Thank you."

We talked for about an hour after that. Just speaking our minds and the like. She was the one who had to go-I rarely have to hang up. I have a surprise for her now, though.

When we got off the phone, I went to check the caller ID-a clever contraption my brother brought with him when he moved back in. I smiled to see a name listed as well as the number. The number I wrote down and memorized before storing it away-in case I forget. I got out the phone book myself, then...

I know where she lives. I realized that was the main reason why she called, too. She made a comment about the caller ID while she was here, meaning she knew that if she called me, I'd be able to find her. If she didn't want me to find her, she would have used a pay-phone, someone else's phone, any number of things. She's a smart girl, this one.

We are on even grounds now, well, save for the minute fact that I don't know her name. (I can picture myself going to her house and someone besides her answers the door and me asking, "Um, is she available right now?" Really specific, huh?) I am going to go to see soon-when the urge comes. It won't be long..

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.