Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Ninety-fifth Entry. I am The Glutton.
12 OCT 03 | 0813 - Sunday


I went with the waffles today. I didn't have much of a choice seeing how there was only one slice of French Toast left, but I was pleased with the decision all the same.

The US Army serves the best breakfast in the world. You're worn out from the day before and hungry as hell, then, after exhausting yourself with morning PT-except Sunday-you go to eat. Stand in line for 10 to 20 minutes watching others eat through the large, floor to ceiling windows. Smelling the food as it floats straight to your nose with a curled digit. It gets you in the mood to eat real quick.

Oatmeal, grits, bagels, sausage patties, sausage links, regular bacon, turkey bacon, chipped beef with gravy, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, hashbrowns, French toast, waffles, pancakes, toast, and buttermilk biscuits that rock my world to the "n"th degree. You can get either oatmeal or grits; one meat and bacon; scrambles eggs or hardboiled eggs; two slices of French Toast/Waffles/Pancakes. As toast and/or biscuits your tray/conscience can carry. That's just the main chow line.

The self-serve line has cottage cheese, yogurt, fruit cocktail, sliced pears, mixed nuts, raisins, granola bars, banana nut muffins, blueberry muffins bran muffins, V8, apple juice, gape juice, assorted cereal, and milk. A lot of food and not too much time to eat it all in. I've had numerous breakfasts the size of Thanksgiving Day feasts. I am an extremely fast eater; I can eat a good size breakfast in under 5 minutes when necessary.

My average breakfast is oatmeal, scrambled eggs, hashbrowns, French toast, a butter milk biscuit, fruit cocktail, banana, granola bar, bran muffin, apple juice, and milk. All that takes me about 8 minutes to consume, but I could eat the French toast and buttermilk biscuits all day long. Sometimes, I wish I could.

There's a sign that hangs in the the hallway were you get issued all you Army issue clothing that says, "You are about to become the best dressed soldier in the world." I think there should be a sign hanging on the D-FAC entrance saying, "You are about to be the best fed soldier in the world." I'm serious. It's the BEST meal of the day for me and it's the best breakfast ever! I've had almost the same exact thing for breakfast everyday since 21 AUG and I'm nowhere near tired of it yet.

At any rate, I'm glad that I went with the waffles this morning and the two buttermilk biscuits. I hope they have French toast and buttermilk biscuits at AIT! Don't know how breakfast could ever be the same again without them.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.