Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
It's been fun, folks.
02 NOV 03 | 0607


I have been more than busy in the past few days. Thankfully, I finally have a little time to update my adventures.

The 23rd was my last entry; since then, I went through IN4, Family Day, Graduation Day, one day of AIT, and that's about all. Not too much.

Inspection Period 4 was extremely difficult this cycle due to it being the last cycle for the company. However, I cleared it, as well as everyone else. And, by the First Sergeant's admission, my weapon was the cleanest of the company. Maybe even the battalion. Good stuff.

The following day was the day that almost everyone had been waiting for since their first day. It wasn't so for me, but I still wanted to see that day badly. Family Day.

I gorged on cookies, fiddle faddle, coke, cream soda, french fries, and generally everything of bad health. The best part, though, was that I got to spend some time with my family. If there was a way to exclaim my joy in that, then I would. It was great to see them and finally spend some time with them again.

Graduation. Walk around Hilton Field, words over loudspeaker, standing at attention while a bee rests on the frame of my glasses, cheek, ear, hand. There really wasn't much to it; I didn't feel like I'd been to BCT, but rather a mock-up of what it was supposed to be. I couldn't be all that proud...I guess mainly because I DID overcome, and with general ease.

After the ceremony, I spent the day with my family. I almost didn't recognize a Brigadier General-so odd to see stars-but I rendered a salute before I shit my pants. I gorged some more, went off-post and relaxed with them like it was way back when. We watched two movies and even took a nap. I didn't want to, I could of slept later, but it was fine. I enjoyed it.

I've never been too terribly close to my family. I didn't think that we are a close family at all, but could just be me. However, I'm starting to feel closer to them. It's funny how the more time you spend around them, the worse the bond gets. But when separation is case, the bond becomes unbreakable. I was really glad to spend that time with them. I wish it could have been more.

On ship day, a lot people were so sad. They felt like they had been through some traumatic even that made them a family and now they were being pulled apart at the seams. It was a little ridiculous for me to watch, but I blame that in part to the fact that I don't bond well. It's not that I don't want to, because I have tried. Simply, I just don't. It's hard for me to get close to anyone and even for those that I do, it's hard to get me feeling nostalgic upon separation. Everyone has quirks and handicaps, just some of mine coming out I suppose.

The eight or nine hour bus ride from Ft. Jackson, NC to Ft. Eustis, VA was a good one. I got plenty of sleep and watched parts of "Independence Day" and "Shrek." Had four plated of food at the Golden Corral despite already being pretty full. I've been full for days-it's the reason why I don't mind not eating lunch chow today. All that gorging...

Well, we get here and find out we have around 91 soldiers quarantined due to influenza. So, before we even have a chance to get off the bus we get sent over to get flu shots.

I've been here now for 3 days and two nights. Last night I went to go see "Once Upon a Time in Mexico" and well, AIT is great. I can't wait for Amber Pass. Green Pass. Gold Pass! It's going to be good, here in AIT. Well, save for some of the food, this 13 hour CQ shift, and the fact that I can't fraternize with some of the hottest women I've ever met.

Next weekend, when I get released, I'm taking a cab to the mall off-post so that I can get some good CD's. I could go into a lot more detail. I left out LOADS of information due to my haze of utter boredom and resulting apathy, but all is still well with the world. Besides, I didn't have to divide the entries into a hundred posts. AND, it's only 1414! Woohoo! Only 4 hour and 43 minutes left!

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.