Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Mr. Bags
17 August 2004 | 19:50

I've got some advice for the young: if it's going to be something that puts hair on your ass, don't do it. Because chances are that by the time you actually have hair on your ass, you're going to be dating someone that doesn't want it there. Or, perhaps, you won't want it there either.

I've been all sorts of "out of it" lately. Cognitive thought has been elusive, common sense has been AWOL, and my attention span hasn't been showing up for work. The "I don't give a shit" philosophy has been winning out far more than it should. But I'm starting to recognize the problem, and I hope it's going to be an easy fix.

In other news, I've been trying to set myself up for success by going to bed a little earlier. By that, I mean before 2330 when it's so late that the bags under my eyes are down to my chin. I suppose my sleeping habits could have been predicted long ago, though, when my Mom nicknamed me "Bags" as an itty bitty kiddie. The nickname hasn't stuck too well, but its namesake has.

The average person sleeps away 1/3 of their life. For a while, I thought that was a horrible way to live. Then I thought, damn, sleep is good! I'm down with that! And now... Well, I spend from 0550 to 1840 in a work mindset almost everyday. Meaning, no matter what I do in that time frame, or how much fun I have, it's still work. That's just how my mind registers it. So I have to have time to myself, or at least time when I can control the noise around me. And then relaxing time. And then time to get ready for tomorrow. Normally, I can overlap these times, but not always. And that's been the case for far too long, now. Hence the heavy amount of luggage beneath my eyes.

I talked to Mimi, today. I don't call her too often, but when I do, we play the catch-up game. And for some reason, it's not the annoying version of the game where we both pretend to care about what's going on with the other person. It's open discussion about what-the-hell-ever and it doesn't really need a direction. I don't mind it, I'm glad I've decided to stay in touch with her.

I don't make many calls at all, anymore. I've adapted to Korea and the company I keep here, so calling the states is more for them than it is for me. Not all, but more. And the problem with all that, is that sometimes people get overlooked. Sometimes people get too many calls and other people don't get enough. I haven't been calling Crise much. There are reason's for it-I don't want to disrupt her life too much; I don't want to stay up late thinking of her when I'm trying to go to sleep; I just don't want to worry/think about it. And now, after an e-mail from her, I'm even more hesitant to call. Either way, I should call her. Maybe sometime this week.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.