Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Low morale.
25 August 2004 | 20:14

I always try my best to stay motivated. Throughout the day. For the task at hand. Anything and everything.

I do find it difficult, though, to maintain morale when I have a fever of 102, the cold chills accompanied by sweat, and am being forced to work from 0620 to 2110. That's a fifteen hour workday. When you're sick, and you have people telling you to do things that make absolutely no sense...it's not so easy to plastic-wrap a smile on your face.

I love the Army. I really do. I'm having an absolute blast in Korea. But the longer I stay here, the worse it's getting. It's turning more and more into a baby-sitter's club gone labor union. It's tiring on my nerves. Tiring on my entertainment. And tiring on my body.

I have to wake up tomorrow at around 0420 so that I can be ready in front of the company at 0515, ready to draw weapons. Some of us will be going to the range tomorrow, and I'm among them. I haven't fired and actual M16-A2 in quite some time. However, we went to the West training facility, and I got to try firing with my contacts. Tight, beautiful shot groups at a 300 meter target. I made a punch-out picture of Mickey Mouse 3 football fields away. It's easy when I don't have my glasses fogging up. Quite easy. So tomorrow, I hope to do well. And if I do, maybe it'll jump-start my morale back to a bearable standard.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.