Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Kate, Hobbs, Nicole
04 September 2004 | 17:30

Quite a lot has happened in recent events. Especially in the last week or so. I'll break it down in sections so that it will remain somewhat coherent.

I met a girl named Kate last Saturday at the bar she works at. I was originally out only to get some new contacts and perhaps some sunglasses because my eyes were abnormally sensitive to light.

In Korea, there are girls termed "Juicy Girls." They come up to you in a bar and keep you company if you buy them a glass of juice for $10. They get friendly, sit in your lap, and do whatever at most places. It's one of those really degrading jobs that people wish they never would've taken.

Kate hates here job. She came from the Phillipines to try and get some money to help her family back home, and so here she is. She has to play the "pretty, single, interested-in-you" role every night of the week. As you can assume, it's very tiring with a bunch of drunk military guys thinking she's really just there to please them and get some cash along the way.

Well, my friend and I have been spending a lot of time there this last week getting to know Kate and Nicole, but not spending an inordinate amount of cash to do so. And the result is, that Kate and Nicole have a genuine attraction to both of us. Problem(s).

First, Hobbs is leaving in a week. Permanently. He genuinely likes Nicole, Nicole is head-over-heels. They'll never see each again. Garunteed.

Second, Kate is wonderful and all, but no matter how much I like her, it's still hard for me to take our situation serious. She's not supposed to see "customers" outside the bar, and yet we went on a double date with Nicole and Hobbs. Lots of pictures for such a brief amount of time. Nicole wanted to remember Hobbs clearly...

Third, Nicole and Kate have a number of customers. None of which that they treat the same as us, but we are but a small representation of what and who they see every night.

Fourth, Nicole and Kate are wonderful. They are great to be around, fantastic sense of humor with both, gorgeous, and most of all here. But Hobbs and I both have ghosts in our minds. Thoughts of someone so far away that they might as well be phantoms. Spectres that come out only to haunt us and remind of what was.

Fifth, when Hobbs leaves, it's going to change. The four of us will become two and an occassional three only when Nicole-an absolute bombshell-doesn't have someone interested in her company. The laughs will be less, the entertainment of it all will shy away. And I'll regret ever trying to remake the past.

I'm going to enjoy my time here. One way or another. And I'm going to enjoy the bit that I have left with Hobbs. I'm going to miss him. I'm going to miss the adventures we'd go on-everything from wig-tossing, bottle-busting, dime-dropping, fight-frenzying-and all that came along with them. Fond farewells to my friend. Hope I get to see him again sooner or later.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.