Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
I tried for you, too.
26 November 2004 | 10:04

I went to my squad leader's church for Thanksgiving. It was a superb meal, and although I offered no money for it, there was still a price. I sat through the service, and found some interest in it. I pondered a couple of points that he chose to make that day, and they're points that I continually question.

What sends someone to hell? Is it there actions? Is it their thoughts? Is it the lack of one, the other, or both? Or is it a simple lack of acceptance of Jesus Christ? For through him is the only passage to Heaven because all fall short of the glory of God.

So Buddha went to Hell? Ghandi? What of all the selfless heroes of our world that have someone else in their heart aside from Jesus and the Lord? All swines roasting in the infernal depths of wretched Hell? Paying for sins for all of eternity? I find the notion of that absurd. Maybe it's right, but I won't live by it.

I have much to do in my life that will condemn me to Hell. The cause behind it may be noble and just, but the action cannot be disregarded. If everyone in this world can forgive me of my sins, and even the Lord himself wash me free of crimson crimes...I will still judge myself. Maybe by the day I'll die, I'll belong in Hell. Maybe it's a place I'll never let myself leave. But I know with no shadow of doubt that what I will do will be right. However, the belief in one person is not enough to save me. At least not from myself.

He died for our sins because there is a price for everything we do. Someone has to pay that price. He was that glorious man who laid to rest the debt of eternity with the forfeit of his life. Strangely, though I'm not Christian, I find Jesus to have existed. Perhaps distorted through the ages, but I feel he lived. The blood that flows in my body tell me he was my brother. Brother to all man that ever lived. I'm thankful for the gift he's given...but I cannot ask someone to pay a price I've accumulated. It is my responsibility, and I'll gladly take on the responsibility of all of eternity as he did. I lack the opportunity. But I can force the price on myself. I can live to earn the gift of my life by ensuring it for others.

Jesus, you are the best friend I could ever have, but never met. And if when I die, there is nothing but the blank void of non-existance....Heaven...Hell...anything, I'll know that you tried for me. Know that I tried for you.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.