Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Snow fool.
01 February 2005 | 19:25

Snow. So pretty in it's floating grace. Gorgeous flakes falling from the clouds. It's nice when it doesn't stick to the ground. Or at least, doesn't stick long.

Problem-I can force myself to have only so much balance.
Problem-my basic-issue combat boots have no traction whatsoever.
Problem-the snow melted just enough to refreeze into ice.

See where this is going? At Ft. Eustis, when it snowed, I fell all the time. My ass was constantly bruised. It was, by far, the only part of my body that didn't resemble Capser by pallor. And now I feel that time of the year has come yet again.

I fell twice on the way to work this morning. Once down a hill that I wanted to attempt to "take my time" with instead of rushing down it before I could fall. Mistake. The second time was on flat ground. Black ice from wet footprints that froze over, and me in my casual stride didn't have enough time to react. My feet went over my head and I landed all my weight upon the left cheeck of my no-longer cushy ass. Last Winter deflated any remaining cushion and exiled any chance of further cushyness.

I fell a thrid time on the way to lunch. Going up a very small incline. Fortunate for me, I was going forward and landed on my knee instead of my bruised ass. Lucky me, huh?

In other news, I'm content. Not happy. Not sad. Just content. And if you ask me, there's not a damn thing in the whole world that's better than being content. We'll see how long that lasts when I go to PT in the morning with the snow and the ice and cold...

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.