Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Variables.
20 August 2005 | 23:49

Even the best laid plans can fall to ruins. And the best plans are the simple ones.

I made a plan tonight that, despite the simplicity and ease of it, it has fallen to ruins far more demolished than The Collussium, or Stonehenge.

Talk to Mimi and drink with some friends watching a movie. A masterpiece of a simple plan, if you ask me. I have a phone. She has a phone. Add tolerable reception and badda-bing badda-boom! I have liquor. Lots of liquor. I have a movie. I have friends. Add em' all up and badda-bing badda-boom!

I suppose Mimi learned how to be a host when she was a hostess at T.G.I.F. Because she's such an awesome host, that she'll get off the phone with me after parting a few obiligatory phrased questions-that are always asked more out of habit than concern-to entertain them. I just want twenty minutes maybe, they'll be there the hole night and are quite comfortable at her place of residence already. Yeah...about that.

We popped in the movie. They pulled out their beer. I made myself a drink. The pina-colada mix leaves....everything to be desired. I might have well drank the rum straight. One friend left half-way through. The other, bailed as soon as it was over. And all three of us...sober. I'm more sober now, than I was before I popped in the movie. I was really hyper and quite out of it earlier. Which makes no real sense because I worked-out for two and a half hours today, no nap, ate a cherry tomato and some crepes and nowhere in that was there any reason for my hyperness.

So while I talked to Mimi, I only did so in the manner I drank. In such a way as to not bother at all. She woke me in the morning crying. Good. Not that she was crying-never good-but that she came to me for help knowing if no one else would/could/should help her with anything...that I'll be the one there for her no matter what. And at great expense to my own comfort, no less. But overall, through the whole of the day and all of the calls, we've talked maybe twenty minutes. Total. Not consecutive by any means. Which entails that most of the conversations were very similiar for the first twenty seconds or so.

The drink...the attempted Pina Colada... It was like drinking rum straight with something looking quite like ejaculatory fluid floating in it. I'm sad to say, but one sip was more than enough and no further attempts were made.

I guess I needed to plan better. I can't depend on the variables that are "other people." Shifty variables that sometimes work, sometimes don't. But I...I am the control. I am solid and steadfast. I am dependable and reliable! And now I make new plans that will only need said control. Me, and Contact. And if I need to spice things up, maybe I'll sip on the beer that was abandoned in my fridge. Not only will I get drunk, but I'll probably puke too! So yeah, life is..well...life.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.