Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
It's the war.
18 October 2005 | 20:13

I once heard that there are three women for every man that he can spend the sum of his life with. If that is true, then I've known two of them for quite some time now, and I believe that I have finally met the third.

Before I went down to Mexico, I wasn't looking for anything serious. I'd called it quits on anything that took the shape of commitment. I'd been looking for it all my life and the only thing I came across was a bunch of red tape, indecision, obscure insecurities of other people that both parties always suffered for. I'd had my fill, and I was going to just take the fun and none of the shit.

Well, when I went down to Mexico, I had fun. I had an absolute blast. With a girl, nonetheless. And not just that, but there wasn't even the intimation of shit to deal with. No complications. At all. And this between two people that could hardly converse? That knew attraction by instinct and acted on it? Why hasn't it been that way with anyone else? Do words really complicate things that much?

I almost immediately shifted from "nothing serious" to "where do I sign" after hanging around Ana. It helped me realize more clearly that love is not a battle. It's the war. It's the driving cause that makes you willing to fight. It's what one aspires for at the start and end of every battle-torn relationship. And if you're not willing to go through battle for it, then it means nothing. But if you battle simply for the sake of battling, love is lost in the spoils.

I'm done with the fighting. My battles have been fought, and right now...the terms of peace are on the verge of negotiation. Or so I hope, because I'm certainly weary...

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.