Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
double insight
17 April 2008 | 21:11

These past two nights of school have been very thought-provoking. I am pleased with where I'm heading for the first time in a very long time. In college algebra it was broken down to me. The only new thing we ever learn as we get into increasingly complicated math...is how to do the same operations we originally learned with new types of formulas. Always addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division. With real numbers. Whole numbers. Rational numbers. Irrational numbers. Variables. Functions. Polynomials. The list goes on. The point is, math gets increasingly difficult with each new stage till it hits that peak of confounded rules, formulas, etc... and after that peak, math still goes on, but down. It just becomes so easy. And then you look back and wonder what was so hard to understand in the first place...

I learned something equally valuable in sociology. I neither love myself, nor do I feel I merit pleasure/reward. We left the jungle because it was unsafe. Fear ruled us and we erected civilization/society to feel safe. Society has grown and advanced towards us feeling increasingly safer. We became industrialized. We were worried about jobs and money...and knowing without the first, we won't have the second. If we don't have money...we can't live in this new "jungle-free" world. So we fear losing our jobs. And we've lost trust in each other so much that we fear to go out at night. Fears again rule us. We progressed ourselves out of the jungle only to be into a new one...with just as many fears, if not more.

I want the world to change. I want society to conform to what I think is best. But I must be willing to admit that I may be wrong. I may not know what's best. What if the very way I think is flawed? So then we must leave it to an expert to see if this change is best. But who would this expert be? An economist who says to keep it the same so he can make his riches and then let the next guy try to make it better? No. It has to be an unbiased person, then. And who would know best if society is good and just? The powerful hands at the top who are out of justice's reach? Or the poor in the lowliest worst states of life who know all the injustices first hand. If we want things to change, we muct poll the poor. For surely they will know...

Anyway, that's all for now.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.