Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
House of Knowledge
28 May 2009 | 22:31

Libraries should not have bathrooms. It should be illegal to lay waste in the House of Knowledge. Now this would surely hurt me in the long run, I know. For some reason unbeknownst to me, a ten-minute visit (or longer) in any library and I need to release. True to the effect that when in need of a laxative, all I need do is visit the nearest branch. Even true of some bookstore visits as well. Is it all that paper? Who knows.

I very much enjoy my visits to the library. I can spend hours there simply grazing over books. Touching spines and covers and occasionally picking one up to peruse cover-jacket flap descriptions. It's an odd sort of addiction. And while I'm fine with spending limitless hours at bookstores only to leave empty-handed, I find it impossible to turn away from library short of my bookshelf tilling's reward. Usually an odd book about odd people. Or a children's book everyone's read but I've never heard of...my own strangeness providing the quiddative peculiarity.

I hope the one thing I can teach my daughter over the years is to remain curious until the day you die. You're never old enough to stop learning.

Sometimes you have to do things just for the experience. Just because you don't see a reason to do it, doesn't mean there's not one. And once you've had the experience, so comes the understanding. As to clarify with a thought I had that..well, took place oddly enough in the future (of a busride daydream) "Knowledge without experience lacks understanding." This was said as much to a younger me as it was to my future rebellious daughter who envisioned her intelligence as "superior" because she could summon wisdom from the cracked tome of her ass... Just as her father had when he was her age..

I thought I knew things clearly and well..and understood without the experience of learning them directly. Now some lessons can be learned that way (often bereft of finer points), but there's lessons that MUST be experienced. It's just the way we're wired. And it's a worthwhile venture. That's what I've learned and proved that arrogant child quite wrong. Intelligence isn't measured by the syllable-count of the words a person uses. FUCK THAT. It's sooner measured in understanding. Not of words. Not of people or things. But of ideas. Of motives and intents...of connotations. And the more abstract, the greater the ken.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.