Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Nectorine
30 September 2004 | 11:22

Today is one of those fantastic Fall days. The sun is out, the sky is blue, and the wind is blowing. It's not too hot, not too cold. The leaves are waiting to shift. It's calm and peaceful.

I like the world year-round, save for my off-days. But everyone has their favored seasons. So many like Spring and Summer... When I was younger, it was Fall. I loved it. Everything was happening in Fall, and the world was alighted with all the vibrant shades of yellow, orange, and red. I used to come alive in Fall. It's been a short while since I felt the Fall sensation I used to embrace, but I've noticed it coming back in the past two weeks. I believe I'm going to enjoy this season quite nicely.

I had a plum for lunch that wasn't up to par with the ones they normally stock at the commissary. I was afraid that my craving for good fruit would go unquenched. Yet, I grabbed my nectorine practically the size of a cannolope, and took one bite. It was delicious. Juicy and meaty. A deep red around the seed giving it an illusion of a heart. It bled red juices that stained my fingers. It was strange, but it was one of the best pieces of fruit I'd ever had in my life. It's Fall, and I'm head over heels with it.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.