Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
It's been me.
29 November 2005 | 18:58

When I see someone crying, I get an overwhelming urge to offer them comfort. I can barely keep myself from walking up to them and taking them in my arms and doing all I can to make everything okay once again. And if they are someone I actually know, I will not hesitate to hold them.

I have such a terrible weakness for tears. For crying. For that pre-emptive whimper that lets loose the torrent of unbearable pain. Mainly, because I do not cry. Not that I can't, but that I don't. I will not allow it. I will not let slip one tear. I'll not offer a single wince. And never will I betray my anguish to another's eyes. I envy the freedom of those that do let slip their truth

The last time I was in the Atlanta airport, I nearly caved to emotion. To the terrible feeling of loss. Of futility. Of life stretching on farther than my reach... And still I managed to cage it. To hid it away and let none see it.

There are moments that I need someone. Anyone to come along and hold me. And I'll never say when that moment is. I'll never let slip that I'm falling and it's almost too difficult to catch myself.

That someone...has always been me, though. Picking myself up off the floor. It's always been me bandaging my own wounds. And I realize that it's always going to be that way. That I'm never going to let someone else tend to me the way I do.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.