Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Peaks.
24 May 2009 | 23:34

I challenged myself to a gambit of fear and skill. Travling a cliffwall shoreline...overstretching my body and my ability with victorious outcomes. Sliding rock sloping ledges. Inch of support with crumbling grips. The thrill made me feel alive and with my victory, the insanity was worth it.. Life was worth living.

Moutain peaks overlooking a sharply edged range dressed in lush green trees and bald patches exposing stone cliffs, walls, bulges and peaks. Green, grassy valleys and a winding river curving around the mountains. It was beautiful.. And staring down at a Buddhist temple from high above, people were smaller than ants..just distance-blurred specks that you couldn't be sure if they were really there.. And racing down with treadless running shoes slick with fresh mud..slipping on smooth slopes leading to 200-300 ft sudden drop-offs. So full of adrenaline..testosterone...and life. I felt like a lion roaring over his meal...having caught his prey.

We shouted from the moutain our Tarzan calls. Young and foolish and full of life. Invincible and indomitable. We were free and crazy and wild...harnessing the holy from a thousand year old temple leagues below.

And I sat upon a hill overlooking the ocean and islands and a distant, jutting shore. Stone stairs leading to a half-moon bay surrounded by tall cliffs topped with green of trees and plants dangling over. Five thousand years of history... and I thought of all the thousands who'd shared my view. I thought of who they were. I imagined the tall ships, ancient and oriental, with their sails up and the wind plowing them through the water. I thought of how the bay once looked..and the tide whose gentle ebb and flow stole the face of that bay's history..changing it and wearing it down..washing it away and carrying it out to tide. I felt small and young and so far along. I felt insignificant and how life has continued on... It felt amazing and full.

A lot to encounter in but a single day. Not just one day, but the scope of just 12 hours.. and I remembered why I am who I am. Why I love it so, and what matters most. I remembered how to enjoy life and these lessons, though quickly gained, will not be quickly lost. They stand by me solid..and it will take the lapping waves of millennia to wash away...

Live life. Take risks. Enjoy yourself and the decisions you make. And always HOLD ON!

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.