Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Fifth entry...Page One of "Julie and Me"
07-06-01 | 2:12 A.M. Central

You know, this will be my fifth entry. Even if my site or whatever says I already have 118 or so. It's messed up, I post one entry and it will post that entry, but way too many damn times! I'm like, "What the hell!? Am I incompetent or is it the computer somehow?" Oh well, it's all well and good. I mean, I don't have to shuffle through the junk. I wrote it!

But, as I said, this is numero cinco. I wrote a story while listening to The Verve Pipe's song, "Freshmen", one night. I rushed the ending and I'm typing it all up now-originally written by hand on paper with pen..truly odd for me-and I'm editing it so that it will be a little better. It's not very good at all, but I'm going to post it up anyway.

Just a few things before you start reading: 1) I wrote this listening to a song. I was put into a mood by this song. If you listen to the song-on repeat obviously-while reading this, the emotion will hopefully transcend a little better. "Freshmen" by The Verve Pipe. 2) It's long short story I guess you could say. It will NOT win some Pulitzer or anything. Don't expect it to be good enough to win Jack and his crap. 3) I love you. I don't know or care who you are, but I love you. Unconditionally. Get over it. 4) It's like "Romeo and Juliet" kind of. It's a love story. It's a tragedy. It's fiction, but very likely a true story somewhere. You will NOT learn the main character's name. Ever. Get over it. The fact that "Julie" is the girl's name was a spontaneous thing. It was the first name that came to mind, and in no way is it some reference to Juliet, no matter how close to too may seem. Though, I find that kind of cool. Anyway, I will let it begin.

Julie And Me

By: Darren McKay Gibson

We died that summer. It was hot and humid, and school had just let out. Julie and I had been together a little over six months now. It was great. We loved each other, and nothing ever changed.

We would have been seniors next year; dominating the school and ruling the underclassmen like herded sheep. Yeah, causing trouble and being mischievous. Though, we never made it quite that far.

Julie was beautiful. The most gorgeous girl in the world, though, I might be a little biased. Five feet and eleven whole inches that was more leg than anything. And oh, those legs caught many a man's eyes and made them drool with desire. She had these blue eyes too, that haunted you everytime you closed your eyes. Tan face framed with blonde locks that fell to her shoulders. Her bare shoulders. She loved wearing halter-tops that showed off her body. She had the right to show it off though, it was flawless.

I was just some lucky schmuck she happened to of fallen for. I'm not complaining, but she could have done so much better. But that's love I suppose. You don't get to chose who, and whoever it is, it's to that person that loyalty is bestowed.

We were going to get married. She was going to be a model-which was very likely-and I was going to be a rock star. We were going to buy a huge mansion on a secluded estate with a white-picket fence. Each of our five yet-to-be-had children already had names. It was going to be great.

School got out early that year. May, 2. Something about making all the schools work with the same schedule. I didn't pay much attention to it. No one did. All we knew and cared is that we'd raid the beach that much sooner.

I remember the last day distinctly. Classes were boring, and because it was Exam Schedule, we only had two to attend. Our third and forth blocks. Julie and I shared our third block class, Honors English. I had Band 4th block and she had Trigonometry junk. We took our English exam and since I had no exam 4th and she had taken her 4th a few days prior, we left as soon at the bell for third block's end rang.

I drove us over to my house in that hunk of motor vehicle junk I called a car. A white Pontiac Sunbird that was not of the best model. A model before they were sporty cars to tell the truth. It was a piece of crap.

Despite the extreme humidity and intense heat-my air condition was having "mechanical failure" again-we laid on the couch together, cuddling. We watched some cartoons and laughed at stupid stuff. Love makes you stupid like that, though, but it's more of a happy goofy rather than some type of stupidity.

My dad had left and so we fooled around a bit, but nothing serious. We never did anything too serious. We had promised each other ourselves on our wedding night. We were still virgins. Virgins that made-out a lot.

She fell asleep leaning against me and I too, was soon asleep. I woke up around 1:00 A.M. or so, though, and was swift to wake her up. She wasn't allowed out that late at night, and so I was quick to rush her home. I didn't want her in trouble on account for my irresponsibility, and I guess I was trying to make up for it by speeding.

She lived with her dad and her younger sister, Victoria. Victoria was twelve and kind of fun to be around. She adored me as the brother she never had. I'd never met her dad, though. She didn't really talk about him either, so I wasn't really too eager to meet him anyway. She spoke of her mother rarely too. She had died when Julie and Victoria were really young. Simply, one morning her mom didn't quite wake up.

She never really spoke much at all of her home, and I had only been there to pick her up and drop her off. She let me go to the front door once. It seemed there was something going on that I was not let into, but I didn't ask questions. Julie seemed depressed when I did ask, so I stopped.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.