Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Eigth entry. Page four of "Julie And Me."
04-14-2002 | 8:53 p.m.

Well now, I would first like to apologize for taking what.. 3 months short an entire year for adding a single entry! I am so sorry to those who might have been reading the story or any such thing.. complications.. blah blah blah you really don't care. Anyway, I apologize and all that stuff so, I will get back to the good stuff.
Continued:

The sun's bright rays woke us just past 4 PM or so. We talked and were smiling so brightly. About an hour later I finally drove her home.

At her house we leaned over, closer to each other and shared a loving kiss. She unstrapped the seat belt and got out of my car. I watched her walk to her house, and that was the firs time I ever saw her father. It would also be the last.

Her father had opened the door with a grim expression painted on his face. He was tall, a little over 6 feet and a little pudgy in the gut. He was wearing a white undershirt, a wifebeater, and a pair of black jeans stained by white paint and faded from use. Sloppy boots covered his feet.

He glared to his daughter with cold, dark eyes. Then he looked at me as I sat behind the steering wheel. Her father gave a shake of his head and gritted his teeth. One of those old, meaty hands rose to slick back some of the thin, brown hairs of his balding head. He began walking towards his daughter who stood stolid with a gaping, hopeless expression.

Her father rose his hand to cross his chest and flung it outward in a backhand that slammed into Julie's cheek. She fell to the ground, and before she could get up, he sent a stern kick to her tender gut; his words belted out as he called his daughter, my love, a "nasty whore" with such spite in his tone.

I was already struggling to free myself of the seat belt and get out of the car by the time he had began kicking her. I ran at him forcefully while we beat her cruelly. I would not stand for anyone, not even her own father mistreat my beloved.

I tackled him to the ground and I straddled his belly while throwing fierce punches at his face with blind, wild rage. His face and my fists were quickly stained by his red blood. I would not stop until I had killed that ugly bastard and Julie knew it.

She managed to get to her feet and got behind me. She put her hands on my shoulders and tried to fling me off her father. My hand came back-readying itself to slam into her father's face-and I accidentally hit her. I immediately came back to reality and got off the chump, ambling swiftly to where she had stumbled to.

"I'm so sorry, Julie! I didn't mean to hit you, I swear! I'm so sorry, Julie. Please forgive me, I'll do anything! I promise!" I uttered out a caring plea as I held her compassionately in my arms. Tears violently streamed down both of our faces as we shuddered. I didn't mean to hurt her. I was so sorry.

We hadn't noticed her father. He had gotten up and went inside. We noticed him, though, when he stood in the doorway-it was only a few feet away-the moment he cocked his shotgun. It was aimed for my back.

Julie jumped to her feet and ran in front of me, shielding me. I hide behind her, starring at her old man. He surely would not shoot his own daughter. Even if he felt nothing about hitting her.

Her father barked at her to get out of the way, but she stood her ground, wailing at her father, "No! Daddy, I love him! No! It's going to be okay! Leave him alone! Please Daddy, please!" Her vision was blurred with her flowing tears.

That creep stalked closer to her, his blood like a mask on his face. He slammed the barrel of the shotgun against Julie's head and she fell over. I was exposed. He glared at me coldly from behind his bloodied face. His dark eyes were empty of anything but frigid anger. He pulled the trigger with almost mechanical resolve.

With a loud boom echoing into the night I cried out in pain. Hot lead rampaged into the bulk of my torso. I wheezed in the little bit of air I could with hopeless gasps, and Julie turned, wiping her eyes so that she could see. She let out a deafening scream that made bones shiver and spines shudder. She jumped to her feet and began slamming her weak fists at her father, fighting him for the gun.

They fell to the ground and rolled around a few times in a passionate struggle. My vision slowly faded. The pain was unbearable, I could not move. However, my body jerked abruptly when I heard the abrupt boom after the trigger of the shotgun had been pulled a second time. The blast shook the heavens.

A pain that could never be paralleled overcame my body when I heard her bloodcurdling shriek. Julie had been shot. Now, I was sure to die. All I heard was her scream as she crawled over to me with everything she had.

She collapsed partially on me, with her head on my chest and an arm set across it. Julie looked to me with bloodshot eyes and that marred face swollen from the blows. Blood trickled from the wounds she sustained, and a little dripped from her mouth. Her eyes had this look of euphoria in her eyes; it was as though she felt no pain.

"I love you.. With... all.. my heart," a cough interrupted her raspy whisper," Now, always.. and for..ev...er." She gave me strength. I only felt her love then. It engulfed me.

I replied in the same strained whisper, "I love you, Julie. With.. and infinite. love. Through life.. and through... death."

It seemed she lingered at the edge of life's cliff so she could hear my words, for seconds after they ceased, her body became deathly relaxed, and that life-inspiring sparkle in her eyes faded and succumbed to the finality of death's cold grip. Another crystalline tear streamed down my face before I too fell before my grim end.

I love you Julie. I always have and always will. And you love me too, always and forever.

Her father cried for what he had done. He'd thrown the shotgun at the house and slammed his fists into the ground and the house siding. Snot dribbled out of his sniveling nose as he cursed himself in unintelligible gibberish.

Julie's father managed to call the authorities. We were both beyond saving by the time the ambulances got there, but some could say we were saved in our love for each other. Smiles were donned on our deceased faces. We were in love, and we still had each other. That's love for you, indomitable.

The chump had surprisingly told the truth about what happened and was taken under arrest. Though, when the case came up in court, he got off easy on a plea of temporary insanity. My parents condemned him, ablaze with angry and tragic emotion alike. I was their son and Julie practically their daughter, and this creep killed us both and got of free. A lot of people were mad about that.

Julie and I were given join funerals. All our friends and our family, save Julie's father, came. Maria cried over my open casket and called me a cruel, heartless bastard for leaving her. Rick made it too. He shook my lifeless hand and gave Julie's cold body one last warm hug. He cried into her shoulder, and friends had to pry him away.

We were buried next to each other, and even interred simultaneously. It was a nice cemetery. Well kept. Lots of flowers. We were buried by the weeping willow-Julie's and my own favorite tree. We first met under a weeping willow at school, I was trying to get a bite of her sandwich.

As a "parting gift", my parents gave us something that meant more than the world itself. Before we were buried, they opened the caskets at the close of the ceremony and placed silver wedding bands on each of our left hand ring fingers.

Everyone cried at that. Everyone. Victoria, asked why we were sleeping in those box things and not playing with her like we normally would. Everyone cried some more, wishing they could explain it to her in a way that she would understand.

School started in August that year. On the first day there was an announcement over the intercom that gave Julie and I a tribute. It was nice. Our friends cried, still not over it, but they managed to get through the day. We laugh at them now though. They were stuck in school while Julie and me were and continue to be in an endless summer day.

Together. Even happier now than ever before. That's love...True love.



The End

Well, I hope you enjoyed my little story. For now, I bid you farewell. I'm going to bed.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.