Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
100 grams
05 August 2004 | 20:48

Today has been dubbed, "Day of the protein." In one day I have managed to consume nearly 100 grams of protein. Not one bite of meat. Not one speck of poultry. Not an ounce of seafood.

I never thought I could truly feel something coursing through my veins. However, it would appear that protein has the magic touch. Whey protein, to be precise. And I can feel it with every pump of my heart. I can still taste it on the roof of my mouth. A peculiar thing to overdose on, isn't it?

On the plus side, it helps restore strength to my rather beaten body. I've been doing a lot of exercise lately, sweating away pounds at a time. Now that I've leveled off around 165, my definition is starting to come. I caught a glimpse of my abs this morning, but when I put my contacts in, I was sad to see that it was just a bruise.

Phase has nearly finished. In about another week, I should be done and can get back to doing the boring, easy stuff that doesn't give me headaches. Sadly, I won't be seeing much of Hobbs after phase, either.

I knew before I joined that the Army was filled with constant change. I knew that I'd constantly be making new friends from all over the globe. And though I knew I'd be saying good bye to other friends, I never really put much thought into it until recently. At Basic, you don't care if you ever see any of them again. In AIT, you get your fill with whoever was there with you. But at a unit in the regular Army...you get close. You get friendly. And you realize that this person could keep you amused till you're 80. On your death bed, they'll have you croaking to death from laughter. But you're saying good bye far too soon. Oh well, I'll make new friends, and sooner or later, I'll catch back up with some of the old ones.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.