Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Mexico
13 October 2005 | 20:47

With every ounce of sincerity I have within me, I am regretfully back from Mexico. It was the single most worthwhile vacation I have ever been on. That, of course, is saying a lot; what with all the vacations to all across the world that I've been on.

There is so much to say, so much to elaborate on that no matter how many times I may go over it to even one person, something is bound to be left out by accident.

I stayed in a small house with concrete floors, portable AC, water that was on only during certain hours and that smelled of iron so much so that I thought someone was bleeding profusely. The washer was hands and the dryer was a barbed-wire fence. Which didn't always work due to rain the first two days, and the fact that the cows kept licking and trying to eat the clothes.

In my life, I've never had such and experience. Never been to such places that I'd so readily call "Eden." Never seen such a real side to life that made me forget how plastic everything and everyone has become. It was as though I had finally found the home I've always felt so displaced from.

Watched a chicken turn from livestock to food more than once. The swift slice of the throat as it flapped out its dying moments in surprised panic. The smooth transition from an animal to something I've seen in stores worldwide. It gave life such a sense of reality. Such a focus on cause and effect. And though it was interesting to see, I had to decline on slaughtering the cow at three in the morning.

Went to a beach that was absolutely amazing where Ana taught me to dance with her laugh and full lips. Went to a Lagoon that was out of some castaway movie with its solitude and startling perfection.

Saw some Mayan ruins. Met another Maria, and this time was happy to let her go on her way. And quite please to find that later that night, Ana sang her a song that translates to "That's my man." Further translation of meaning, "Back off bitch, he's mine." And I met real people.

Above all else, though, I met Ana. In all the world and all the people I've met across this globe, I've never encountered anyone remotely as strong as her. So stunning for a girl so beautiful and shy; so amazing for a woman so small and fun. And without fair communication in just that week that seemed like a month in Heaven, she...a person I hold in regard higher than I have standards...came to love me. Upon my leave, her tears shook me to the core. Her smile burns brightly in my mind. If it's not her that I will marry one day, then it will be her clone.

More to come later, for now, I sleep. Pictures are posted.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.