Who wants flowers when you're dead? Nobody.
Gotta give
26 April 2008 | 01:58

The tireless self-educated. I think I kind of belong to that group. I have been out of school for five years now and I have continued to learn. I have branched out past scholastic endeavors, though. I have learned social skills, found conviction, uncovered deeper meanings to life, and I've basically done it on my own. I'm tenacious when it comes to defending that knowledge I've gained, also.

As of late, I've re-inserted myself into academia. I'm learning things now that I wouldn't have thought of otherwise. Just that fact alone is helping me uncover so many thoughts. While they are basic and obvious thoughts...they are essential to understanding more than is just on the surface...more than just the manifest reality. An example is peanut-butter. It's peanut's in a butter-like-form with...you guessed it...perhaps some butter. A very easy thing to understand. However, let's look at something just as obvious but goes a little deeper. This globe has a vast mixture of the uneducated...the high school educated...college educated...and self-educated. Each one bringing a whole new view into the world ABOUT the world. All these varying viewpoints struggle against the other for superiority. And people line up behind them spewing at the mouth these built-up concepts...Simple and abstract. The way these ideas have shaped the centuries with either momentary reason, or ageless influence is a great accomplishment for each group. It truly is remarkable the changes that can be made. And just about everytime I say to myself, "Look how far we've come," I instantly think of how little we've actually come and how far we still have to go. Our technology might beome more advanced everyday. But that doesn't mean that WE, ourselves, become even slightly more advanced. We are still the same people, if not worse, in a technological rat-race that mitigates our human interactions...and by proxy, our remaining shreds of humanity. I don't know, maybe things will improve.

Comment <-- | -->

Current
Profile
E-mail
Notes
Pictures
D-land
Flashes of High School
Summer of Change
No Brass, No ammo
Lost in Translation

Last Five

And that's that.
Referenced #2
Referenced
To write them.
Heart vs mind.